Institute for War and Peace Reporting | Giving Voice, Driving Change

2014 Kurt Schork Awards: Final Call for Entries


The deadline for submissions for this year’s Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism is just one month away.

Established in 2002, the awards honour American freelance journalist Kurt Schork, who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone. The awards recognise the work of reporters who seek to illuminate the human condition through courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other key issues.

The annual awards are in two categories. The first recognises the often unacknowledged work of local reporters in developing nations or countries in transition who write about events in their homeland. The second is for freelance journalists who travel to the world’s news hotspots, often at great personal risk and little protection, to witness and report the impact and consequences of major events.

The award in each category is $5000, which this year will be presented in London on Thursday, October 30.

Entrants must submit three articles each – published between June 1, 2013 and May 31, this year in print or online.

Judges expect high-calibre writing and evidence of special determination and courage in obtaining the story. Since 2009, the awards ceremony has been hosted by the Thomson Reuters Foundation.

The deadline for entries is midnight (GMT) on Saturday, May 31. Further details about eligibility, entry criteria, and the online entry form are on the KSMF website at:

More IWPR's Global Voices

Syria: When No News is Bad News
"Something inside me refuses to believe that Ismail is gone. I live in hope that some day he will be released."
Shortages Force Aleppo Medical Centres to Close
Armenia, Russia in New Air Defence Deal