Institute for War and Peace Reporting | Giving Voice, Driving Change

South East Governors Commit to Payment of Minimum Wage

By IWPR Nigeria






The governors of Nigeria’s South East geo-political zone, comprising Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, and Imo States have resolved to pay public servants the monthly minimum wage of 18 000 naira (about 120 US dollars) prescribed by law, to public servants in the states.

The governors made the commitment during a meeting at the Government House Enugu. They however called on the federal government to review the revenue allocation formula to make more funds available to the states.

Anambra State Governor, and Chairman of the South East Governors’ Forum, Peter Obi addressed newsmen after the meeting. Here’s what he had to say:

(Obi’s comment)

The meeting was attended by all the five governors, and political leaders from the zone, including Chief Ralph Nwechue, President General of the Igbo socio-cultural organisation, Ohaneze Ndigbo.

More IWPR's Global Voices