Institute for War and Peace Reporting | Giving Voice, Driving Change

Reporting Police Misconduct: Separating Facts From Fake News

Online event explores how journalists need to approach this challenging issue.
By IWPR
  • Protest against the police brutality in Nigeria. (Photo: Tosin James/Unsplash)
    Protest against the police brutality in Nigeria. (Photo: Tosin James/Unsplash)

Allegations of police misconduct are making headlines across Africa, from the #endSARS movement in Nigeria to reports of brutality in Kenya and the rest of the continent. With photos, videos and other alleged evidence of misconduct circulating on social media and the internet, journalists face multiple challenges when reporting on such sensitive and important stories.

On November 2, IWPR and its FakeWatch Africa project are hosting an online discussion on reporting police conduct and misconduct, and how to separate facts from fake news.


Date: Monday 2 November, 2020
Time: 11:00 UK / 12:00 Nigeria / 13:00 South Africa / 14:00 Kenya

Please join the meeting >> from your computer, tablet or smartphone. No need to register in advance. 


This webinar will bring together experts in the field for an in-depth 75-minute session, featuring:

  • Dayo Aiyetan, Executive Director
    International Centre for Investigative Reporting (icirnigeria.org), Nigeria
  • John-Allan Namu, Executive Director
    Africa Uncensored (africauncensored.online), Kenya
  • Anthony Borden, Executive Director
    Institute for War & Peace Reporting (iwpr.net), United Kingdom
  • Laura Walubengo, Digital Community Manager
    CGTN Africa, Kenya
  • H.E. Frans Makken, recent Ambassador of the Netherlands to Kenya, Somalia, and the Seychelles

MODERATOR

As coronavirus sweeps the globe, IWPR’s network of local reporters, activists and analysts are examining the economic, social and political impact of this era-defining pandemic.

VIEW FOCUS PAGE >