Institute for War and Peace Reporting | Giving Voice, Driving Change

Central Asia and Covid-19

Panel event will focus on the pandemic’s effect on regional cooperation with Russia, debt and aid distribution.
By IWPR Central Asia

IWPR and Chatham House - the Royal Institute of International Affairs are holding an international online discussion on the impact of coronavirus on Central Asia’s development.

The May 29 event is part of an ongoing series of local and international discussions on the pandemic, organised by IWPR Central Asia and its regional analytical platform CABAR.ASIA.

Also see previous event: China's Post-Covid-19 Plans for Central Asia from April 22.

The panel will bring together experts and academics from Europe, Central Asia and the US to focus on the potential effect of Covid-19 on regional cooperation with Russia and the Eurasian Economic Union, as well as the issues of external debt and aid distribution.

The event will be in English, on May 29 at 12:30 (London time), 17:30 (Bishkek/NurSultan), 16:30 (Tashkent/Dushanbe), 07:30 (Washington, D.C.)

This publication was prepared under the "Giving Voice, Driving Change - from the Borderland to the Steppes Project" implemented with the financial support of the Foreign Ministry of Norway.

More IWPR's Global Voices

Cuba Gags Coronavirus Critics
Legislation used to intimidate those highlighting government mishandling of the emergency.
Cuba: State Measures Prompt Food Shortages
Cuba's Covid-19 Cure: Duck Heart and Liver